Tribute Dinner 2018

June 4th, 2018
6:00 pm Reception
7:00 pm Dinner & Program
The Beverly Hilton
International Ballroom

At Partners in Care Foundation’s 2018 Tribute Dinner, California Health and Human Services Agency Secretary Diana S. Dooley will be honored with the Vision & Excellence in Healthcare Leadership Award. Diana S. Dooley was appointed Secretary of the California Health and Human Services Agency in December 2010 by Governor Jerry Brown. She is at the helm of the 13 departments within the Health and Human Services Agency, including the Department of Health Care Services, which administers California’s Medicaid program, Medi-Cal. An estimated 3.9 million people currently have coverage through Medi-Cal because of the state’s expansion of the program. Secretary Dooley has served as Board Chair of Covered California since 2011, leading the state’s health benefit exchange in making it possible for 1.4 million Californians to secure health care coverage for this year alone. Secretary Dooley launched the Let’s Get Healthy California Task Force in 2012 with the purpose of developing a ten-year plan to make California the healthiest state in the nation. Join us in celebrating her myriad impressive accomplishments.

Secretary Dooley sat down with Partners in Care Foundation for a three-part interview leading up to the event.

The evening also includes a Lifetime Achievement Award to C. Duane Dauner who has served as President/CEO since 1985 of the California Hospital Association. This beloved leader nobly represents the interests of nearly 400 hospitals and health systems in California. A nationally known thought leader on health issues, Duane has spent his entire career and talents devoted to statewide representation and advocacy for California’s hospitals.

Mr. Dauner recently met with Partners in Care Foundation for an interview on hospitals, healthcare, and more.


Premier Event Sponsor
Molina Healthcare, Inc.

Event Sponsors
agilon health
Health Net, Inc.
Providence St. Joseph Health

Tribute Sponsors
American Hospital Association
Blue Shield of California & Care1st Health Plan
California’s Statewide and Regional Hospital Associations:
California Hospital Association
Hospital Association of Northern & Central California
Hospital Association of Southern California
Hospital Association of San Diego & Imperial Counties
Dignity Health
Golden Shore Medical Group
Marta M. Fernandez and Jeffer, Mangels, Butler & Mitchell LLP
Kaiser Permanente
Leeba Lessin and Sheldon Zinberg, MD
MedPOINT Management / Health Care LA, IPA
OptumCare Southern California
Prospect Medical Holdings
USC Keck School of Medicine

Friend Sponsors
Accredited Home Care Services
Adventist Health Southern California
Arent Fox LLP
Cain Brothers & Company, LLC
California Children’s Hospital Association
The California Endowment
Children’s Hospital Los Angeles
Citrus Valley Health Partners
City of Hope
Cathi Cunningham and Deloitte & Touche LLP
Episcopal Communities & Services
First 5 LA
Henry Mayo Newhall Hospital
Hooper, Lundy & Bookman, P.C.
The Institute for Human Caring at Providence St. Joseph Health
L.A. Care Health Plan
Loma Linda University Health
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP
MemorialCare Health System
Preferred IPA of California
Earl Racine
SCAN Health Plan
Spencer Stuart
UCLA Health & David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
USC Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work
Valley Children’s Healthcare
Valley Presbyterian Hospital

Funded in part by a grant from the California Wellness Foundation

2018 Honorary Tribute Co-Chairs

Kathleen Brown
George Halvorson

2018 Honorary Tribute Committee

Richard Afable, MD, MPH
Dimitrios Alexiou
Bart Asner, MD
John Baackes
Trish Baesemann
William B. Caswell
Molly Coye, MD
Carmela Coyle
Donald H. Crane
Lloyd Dean
George Greene
Rod Hochman, MD
Yoshi Honkawa
Sr. Carol Keehan
Laura Jacobs
Robert W. Lundy
Robert Margolis, MD
Stephanie S. McCutcheon
Peggy O’Kane
Rick Pollack
Tom Priselac
Leonard D. Schaeffer
Jack Schlosser
Johnese Spisso
Art Sponseller
Arthur Southam, MD
Gerald J. Sullivan
Marilyn Tavenner
Bart Wald, MD

Past Award Recipients

2017 – Rod Hochman, MD

2016 – Don Crane

2015 – Robert Margolis, MD

2014 – Leeba Lessin; Donald Furman, MD; Alan Hoops; Hyong Kim, MD; and Sheldon Zinberg, MD

2013 – MemorialCare Health System and Dr. Barry Arbuckle

2012 – David T. Feinberg, MD, MBA

2011 – Howard A. Kahn

2010 – Robert W. Lundy and Lloyd A. Bookman

2009 – Richard A. Norling

2008 – George C. Halvorson

2007 – Lloyd H. Dean

2006 – Francine Kaufman, MD

2005 – Thomas M. Priselac

2004 – C. Duane Dauner

2003 – Dr. Robert E. Tranquada

2002 – James E. Ludlum, J.D.

2001 – Yoshi Honkawa

2000 – Dr. Allen & Weta Mathies

WP-Backgrounds by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann