Tribute Dinner 2017

Top executives from across the healthcare industry attended the Partners in Care Foundation 18th Annual Tribute Dinner which honored Rod Hochman, MD, President & CEO of Providence St. Joseph Health with the 2017 Award for Vision and Excellence in Healthcare Leadership.

View photographs from the event here.

Partners in Care Foundation was joined in presenting the award by Richard Pollack, president and Chief Executive Office of the American Hospital Association, Dr. Richard Afable, President and Chief Executive Officer of St. Joseph Hoag Health and Sister Carol Keehan, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Catholic Health Association. The event at the Beverly Hilton on May 15 honored Dr. Hochman for his high impact career as a healthcare leader and recognized the history and current status of Providence St. Joseph Health. Providence St. Joseph Health combines Providence Health & Services and St. Joseph Health, serving the communities of the Western U.S. for more than a century. Together they include 106,000 caregivers who serve in 50 hospitals, 829 clinics and hundreds of programs and services in seven western states. Under Rod’s leadership, Providence St. Joseph Health is transforming health care for communities through digital innovation, population health, mental health, specialty institutes, clinical quality and outreach to the poor and vulnerable.

During our recent interview series with him, Rod addressed the critical role played by community-based social services in improving health outcomes saying, “We are passionate believers that we are going to solve healthcare issues, not through more doctors, but through a team-based approach, working with people like social workers and home health aides – community-based teams that can help extend the reach of what we do in healthcare.”

Echoing this sentiment, June Simmons, Partners President and CEO said, “Rod is a visionary thinker who challenges the assumptions of conventional healthcare wisdom, finding better ways to not just serve patients but Providence St. Joseph’s staff. He embodies the notion of team-based, person-centered care in its truest sense.”


Premier Event Sponsor
Providence St. Joseph Health

Event Sponsor
Dignity Health

Tribute Sponsors
Blue Shield of California & Care 1st Health Plan
California Hospital Association
CSS Consulting Group
Eileen Goodis, Eric Strom & Earl Racine
Health Net Inc.
Kaiser Permanente
Nixon Peabody LLP
United Health Group

Friend Sponsors
Accredited Home Health
Adventist Health Southern California
Agilon Health
American Hospital Association
Anthem Blue Cross
AppleCare Medical Group
Arent Fox LLP
Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.
Cain Brothers & Company
Chivaroli & Associates, Inc.
HealthCare Partners Select
St. Joseph Hoag Health Select
Citrus Valley Health Partners
Episcopal Communities & Services
Henry Mayo Newhall Hospital
Hooper, Lundy & Bookman
Huron Consulting Group
Jeffer, Mangels, Butler & Mitchell LLP
L.A. Care Health Plan
MedPOINT Management
MemorialCare Health System
Molina Healthcare, Inc.
OneLegacy Foundation
Preferred IPA of California
Prospect Medical Holdings
Providence Institute for Human Caring
Spencer Stuart
UCLA Health and David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Union Bank
USC Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work
Diane Wittenberg & Honorable David Minning
World Wide Technology

2017 Honorary Dinner Co-Chairs

Richard Afable, MD MPH
Rick Pollack

2017 Honorary Dinner Committee

John Baackes
Trish Baesemann
Gary Bisbee
Maureen Bisognano
William B. Caswell
Don Crane
C. Duane Dauner
Lloyd H. Dean
Sr. Carol Keehan
Pam Kehaly
Mike Leavitt
Robert W. Lundy
Robert Margolis, MD
Peggy O’Kane
Thomas M. Priselac
Stephen A. Ralph
Jack Schlosser
Johnese Spisso
Marilyn Tavenner
Marcus Thygeson, MD, MPH
Robert Tranquada
Steven T. Valentine

Past Award Recipients

2016 – Don Crane, President & CEO of CAPG

2015 – Robert Margolis, MD, CEO Emeritus of HealthCare Partners, LLC

2014 – Leeba Lessin; Donald Furman, MD; Alan Hoops; Hyong Kim, MD; and Sheldon Zinberg, MD

2013 – MemorialCare Health System and Dr. Barry Arbuckle

2012 – David T. Feinberg, MD, MBA

2011 – Howard A. Kahn

2010 – Robert W. Lundy and Lloyd A. Bookman

2009 – Richard A. Norling

2008 – George C. Halvorson

2007 – Lloyd H. Dean

2006 – Francine Kaufman, MD

2005 – Thomas M. Priselac

2004 – C. Duane Dauner

2003 – Dr. Robert E. Tranquada

2002 – James E. Ludlum, J.D.

2001 – Yoshi Honkawa

2000 – Dr. Allen & Weta Mathies

WP-Backgrounds by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann