Tribute Dinner 2016

Health Industry Honors CAPG President, Don Crane at Partners in Care 2016 Tribute Dinner

Executives from across the healthcare industry attended the 17th Annual Tribute Dinner which honored Don Crane, President & CEO of CAPG, with the 2016 Partners in Care Vision and Excellence in Healthcare Leadership Award. The award, which was presented at the Beverly Hilton on May 9, has been given annually since 2000, and is in recognition of an individual who has affected pioneering change as a healthcare visionary.

The event honored Don Crane for his long-standing leadership and advocacy for clinically integrated, comprehensive, and coordinated healthcare. CAPG is the preeminent U.S. trade association for, and the voice of accountable physician organizations. The mission of CAPG is to assist accountable physician groups to improve the quality and value of healthcare provided to patients.

See photographs from the event here.

During our recent interview series with him, Don explained why a coordinated continuum of care is essential to the future of the healthcare system saying, “When you’re interested in the health of not just the individual, but the whole population, those who appear in your office, but also those who don’t show up, or those who have left your office but are in desperate need of support – that’s when the healthcare system really starts to work, for everyone. It’s the new frontier.”

Commenting on the award, June Simmons, Partners President and CEO said, “This vision, and his patience, persistence and courage in fighting on the front lines of healthcare reform, is why Don Crane is a change agent for the 21st century, and the worthy recipient of the 2016 Vision and Excellence in Healthcare Leadership Award.”

Partners in Care Foundation is an innovator in building partnerships with healthcare and community care for population health management.


Please join us in thanking those who helped to celebrate this transformational leadership in healthcare by recognizing Mr. Crane’s great work through their support. Sponsors were recognized in the printed invitation, the program book, the media presentations at the event, and on related event materials. In keeping with CAPG’s advocacy for a shift in healthcare focus from the catastrophic to the preventative, proceeds from this event went directly to support Partners’ work as a national leader in the design and implementation of new models of care that address the social and lifestyle determinants of health.

2016 Tribute Dinner Sponsors

Event Sponsor

Tribute Sponsors
Care 1st Health Plan
Dignity Health
Dignity Health Northridge Hospital Medical Center
GE Healthcare Camden Group
Eileen Goodis, Eric Strom & Earl Racine
Health Net, Inc.
Heritage Provider Network
Kaiser Permanente
OptumCare Southern California
Prospect Medical Institute
Providence Health & Services, Southern California
SCAN Health Plan

Friend Sponsors
Adventist Health Physicians Network
Anthem Blue Cross
Arent Fox LLP
Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.
Blue Shield of California
California Hospital Association
Chivaroli & Associates, Inc.
Cigna Medical Group
Citrus Valley Independent Physicians
COPE Health Solutions
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Henry Mayo Newhall Hospital
Hooper, Lundy & Bookman
Huron Consulting Group
Jeffer, Mangels, Butler & Mitchell LLP
Keenan HealthCare
LA Care Health Plan
Robert & Lisa Margolis Family Foundation
MedPOINT Management
MemorialCare Health System
Molina Healthcare, Inc.
OneLegacy Foundation
PIH Health
Preferred IPA of California
Stanford Health Care
USC- School of Social Work
Diane Wittenberg & Honorable David Minning

2016 Honorary Dinner Co-Chairs

Bart Asner, MD
Jay M. Gellert
John M. Kirk

2016 Honorary Dinner Committee

Barry S. Arbuckle, Ph.D.
Gloria Austin
John Baackes
Jay Cohen
Layton R. Crouch
C. Duane Dauner
Castulo de la Rocha, JD
Lloyd H. Dean
Cindy Ehnes, Esq.
Bill Gil
Tom Gordon
Laura Jacobs
John E. Jenrette, MD
Howard A. Kahn
Pam Kehaly
David Lansky, Ph.D.
Leeba Lessin

Henry Loubet
Carol K. Lucas
Robert Margolis, MD
Paul Markovich
Matthew Mazdyasni
Richard N. Merkin, MD
Mike Murphy
Thomas M. Priselac
Stephen A. Ralph
Kurt Ransohoff, MD
Saliba H. Salo
Roger E. Seaver
Bob Severs
Steve T. Valentine
Bart Wald, MD
Tom Williams
Keith Wilson, MD
Chris P. Wing

Past Mathies Award Recipients

2015 – Robert Margolis, MD

2014 – Leeba Lessin; Donald Furman, MD; Alan Hoops; Hyong Kim, MD; and Sheldon Zinberg, MD

2013 – MemorialCare Health System and Dr. Barry Arbuckle

2012 – David T. Feinberg, MD, MBA

2011 – Howard A. Kahn

2010 – Robert W. Lundy and Lloyd A. Bookman

2009 – Richard A. Norling

2008 – George C. Halvorson

2007 – Lloyd H. Dean

2006 – Francine Kaufman, M.D.

2005 – Thomas M. Priselac

2004 – C. Duane Dauner

2003 – Dr. Robert E. Tranquada

2002 – James E. Ludlam, J.D. In Memoriam

2001 – Yoshi Honkawa

2000 – Dr. Allen & Weta Mathies

WP-Backgrounds by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann